
Helping contractors and employees 
know what rate they should be paid 

for public contracts exceeding 
$250,000 under Maryland law.  

Prevailing Wage 
 

10946 Golden West Drive Suite 160 
Hunt Valley, MD 21031 
Phone: 410-767-2365  

email: dldliprevailingwage-dllr@maryland.gov 

Learn more about Maryland’s Prevailing Wage 
Law by logging onto:  

www.dllr.maryland.gov/labor/prev/ 
 

 

Maryland 

Prevailing Wage Law 

Prevailing Wage for State Funded Construction 
Contracts 
 
Welcome to the Division of Labor and Industry’s  

Prevailing Wage for State Funded Construction  

Contracts unit. The Prevailing Wage Unit assists 

prime contractors and subcontractors who perform 

work on any State or political subdivision construction 

contract which exceed $250,000.  

 

Additionally, we ensure that construction workers on 

these projects, including carpenters, plumbers, power 

equipment operators, laborers, etc. must receive the 

appropriate craft prevailing wage rate as determined by 

the Commissioner of Labor and Industry. The  

Prevailing Wage rate is the basic hourly rate of pay, 

plus a bona fide fringe benefit rate.  
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What is the Prevailing Wage Law? 
 
The Prevailing Wage Law regulates the 
hours of labor, rates of pay, conditions of 
employment, obligations of employers, 
and the powers and duties of certain 
public officials under contracts and 
subcontracts for public works in 
Maryland. 
 
Who is Covered? 
 
Coverage extends to any contract of  
$250,000 or greater with State funding of 
25% or more. 
 
 
 

Certified Payroll Statements 
 
Contractors on State-funded construction 
projects covered by the Prevailing Wage Law 
are required to submit certified payroll 
statements indicating proper classification and 
wage for both straight time and overtime work. 
Certified payrolls must be submitted to the 
Commissioner of Labor and Industry within 
fourteen (14) days after the end of the payroll 
period. Penalties for late submission of payrolls 
total $10 for each calendar day the records are 
late. 
 
Wage Determinations 
 
A wage determination issued for a project 
specifies the wage and fringe benefit rates for 
each classification of worker, determined to be 
prevailing in that locality for that type of 
construction. Wage determinations are issued 
for each locality in the State (23 counties and 
Baltimore City) and are in effect for one (1) year 
from the date of which they become final. The 
law requires employees on a public works 
contact to be paid overtime for hours in excess 
of ten (10) hours in a single day, and for work 
performed on a Sunday or legal holiday. 

Prevailing Wage Informational Rates 
 
Maryland Prevailing Wage Rates are issued 
separately for building and highway 
projects on a county-by-county basis by 
the Division of Labor and Industry — 
Prevailing Wage Unit. Registered 
contracting Public Body Procurement 
Officers and their registered agents may log 
onto www.dllr.maryland.gov/labor/prev/ 
to request the required prevailing wage 
determination for each classification of 
worker before the public body advertises 
for bids or proposals. 

Annual Survey 
The Prevailing Wage Unit is compiling a 
list of registered contractors, contractors’ 
associations and labor organizations who 
will be notified electronically when to  
voluntarily participate in the annual  
Prevailing Wage Rate Survey. The  
Commissioner of Labor and Industry  
encourages all interested parties to  
voluntarily electronically submit data  
detailing wage rates paid to workers on  
various types of construction in all localities 
in Maryland. For more information or to 
register, please logon to: 
www.dllr.maryland.gov/labor/prev/ 

Contractors found to be paying wages 
below the prevailing wage rate may be 
fined up to $250 per day for each 
worker who was paid less than the es-


