BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTANCY *

V.
* CASE NO.: CPAS 10-0032

INES VAN DALEEN THORNBURG,
*
%

Respondent
*
* * * * * * * * * * *
CONSENT ORDER

This matter comes before the Maryland Board of Public Accountancy (“Board™) as
a result of a complaint filed by the Board’s continuing professional education auditor
against Ines van Daleen Thornburg (“Respondent”), a licensed certified public accountant.
The auditor conducted an audit of the continuing professional education courses claimed
by the Respondent in the Respondent’s license renewal application that was filed with the
Board on November 25, 2008. Upon a review of the complaint, the Board has determined
that administrative charges against the Respondent should be held. In an effort to resolve
this matter without a formal hearing, the Respondent and the Board have agreed to enter
into this Consent Order as the final settlement of this matter.

THE PARTIES AGREE AND STIPULATE:

1. Atall times relevant to the matters set forth in this Consent Order, the Board had
jurisdiction over the subject matter and the Respondent.

2. The Respondent became licensed as a certified public accountant (License No.
01-22269) on October 31, 1994.

3. On November 25, 2008, the Respondent filed a license renewal application with
the Board for the period November 25, 2008 through November 25, 2010.
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4. On the renewal application the Respondent claimed 75 hours of continuing
professional education credit hours during the previous license term.

5. The Board’s license renewal application requires an applicant to certify to the
accuracy of the information contained in the application. This certification states, in

pertinent part:

“I hereby certify, under penalty of perjury, that the information
contained herein is true and correct to the best of my knowledge,
information, and belief...”

6. On February 26, 2009, the Respondent provided documents to the Board for
audit review of the 75 hours continuing professional education credits that she claimed in
the renewal application.

7. On July 16, 2009, the following audit determination was made regarding the
Respondent’s documentation of the continuing education credits claimed in the
Respondent’s renewal application as follows:

a.  the Respondent failed to provide documentation to support
four (4) hours of continuing professional education in ethics;

b.  the Respondent claimed 75 hours of self study hours; which
exceeded the amount of self study that was eligible to be
claimed on the renewal application;

c.  the Respondent was credited with 40 hours of continuing
professional education credit hours; the 35 excess hours were
disqualified;

d. the amount of continuing professional education hours that
was carry forwarded from the Respondent’s previous renewal ,
was five (5);

e.  the Respondent’s total continuing professional education hours
eligible to be applied to the October 1, 2008 renewal
application was 45; and

f. the Respondent was deficient by 35 continuing professional
education hours; include four (4) hours in ethics.

8. Based on the aforementioned facts, the Respondent acknowledges that she has
violated Business Occupations and Professions Article Regulation Article §§2-312(a) (2)
and (3) Annotated Code of Maryland; and Code of Maryland Regulations COMAR
09.24.02.02 (A) and (B), which state:
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' § 2-312. Continuing education.

(@) In general. - (1) The Board shall adopt regulations that
set, in accordance with this section, continuing education
requirements as a condition to the renewal of licenses under
this subtitle.

(2) A continuing education requirement does not apply to the
first renewal of a license.

(3) (i) To qualify for any further renewal of a license under
this subtitle, a licensee shall complete, for each 2-year
license term, at least 80 hours in programs that the Board
approves.

09.24.02.02 Basic Requirement.

A. The applicant shall complete a minimum of 80 hours of
acceptable continuing education in each 2-year license term
after initial renewal.

B. A minimum of 4 hours of the continuing education for
each 2-year license term shall be in professional ethics with
no carry forward provision for excess hours.

. 9. Based on the aforementioned violations, the Respondent agrees to pay to the
Board a civil penalty of $1,040.00 upon the Respondent’s execution of this Consent Order.

10. The Respondent agrees to the inactivation of the license until such time that the
Respondent completes the following hours of continuing professional education:

a. Eight (8) hours in professional ethics; and

b. Thirty-one (31) hours in course related subject matter approved by the
Board.

11. Upon application for license reactivation or reinstatement for an active license,
the Respondent agrees to provide documentation to verify completion of the required
continuing professional education hours as set forth Stipulation #10 of this Consent Order,
pursuant to the Code of Maryland Regulations, COMAR 09.24.02.01 through .04, which

provide:
COMAR 09.24.02 Continuing Education
.01 Citation of Regulations, Applicability, and Purpose.
A. These regulations may be cited and referred to as the

"Accountancy Continuing Education Regulations". The
continuing education requirement applies to all persons
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licensed under Business Occupations and Professions
Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, to practice certified
public accountancy in this State.

B. The requirement does not apply to those licensees who
have been placed on inactive status. An individual placed on
inactive status may not engage in any degree of public
practice. The phrase "engaged in the practice of certified
public accountancy" is defined in COMAR 09.24.01.01.

C. The public interest requires that certified public
accountants provide competent service in all areas of their
practice. The State legislature has determined that it is in the
public interest to require certified public accountants
employed in or engaged in public accounting to comply with
the continuing education requirements as a prerequisite to
the renewal of a license.

.02 Basic Requirement.

A. The applicant shall complete a minimum of 80 hours of
acceptable continuing education in each 2-year license term
after initial renewal.

B. A minimum of 4 hours of the continuing education for
each 2-year license term shall be in professional ethics with
no carry forward provision for excess hours.

C. Except as provided in Regulation §B of this regulation
and Regulation .03G of this chapter, all hours in excess of
the 80 hours required for a license term can be carried
forward to apply as credit to the 80-hour requirements of the
following 2 years.

D. The following standards will be used to measure the hours
of credit to be given for acceptable continuing education
programs completed by individual applicants:

(1) Only participation hours or the equivalent (and not
hours devoted to preparation) will be counted.

(2) Services as teacher, lecturer, or discussion leader in
accounting and related subjects qualifying for
continuing education credit will be included to the
extent that it contributes to the licensee's professional
competence. Repetitious presentation, that is, those that
are substantially the same subject material, may be
included only once in each reporting cycle. Hours
allowable in the capacity of teacher, lecturer, or
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discussion leader may not exceed 45 hours of the
minimum requirements with no carry-over provision for
excess hours.

(3) A teacher, lecturer, or discussion leader of a
qualifying continuing education program shall receive:

(a) 3 hours of continuing education credit for every
hour of presentation for a first-time presentation of a
program; and

(b) 1 hour of continuing education credit for every
hour of presentation for all subsequent presentations
of a program.

E. The Board shall credit acceptable hours of continuing
education earned after initial licensure if the credit hours are
properly reported on the first renewal application, in
accordance with Regulation .04C of this chapter.

F. An applicant shall complete 80 hours of continuing
education in compliance with the Board's Accountancy
Continuing Education Regulations before receiving a license
to practice certified public accountancy if:

(1) The applicant is not licensed as a certified public
accountant in another state or jurisdiction; and

(2) The applicant passed the examination more than
four years prior to applying to the Board for a license.

.03 Programs Which Qualify.

A. The overriding consideration in determining whether a
specific program qualifies is that it shall be a formal program
of learning which contributes directly to the professional
competence of an individual after this individual has been
licensed to practice certified public accountancy.

B. Group Continuing Education Programs.

(1) Group continuing education programs will qualify
only if §A of this regulation is met and:

(a) An outline is prepared in advance and preserved
for review by this Board, if required;

(b) The program is at least 1 hour (50-minute
periods) in length;

(c) The program is conducted by a qualified
instructor;
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(d) A record of attendance is preserved;

(e) The sponsor agrees to admit a member of the
Board or of the CPE Advisory Committee on request
to monitor the program.

(2) These programs would include:

(a) Professional ~development programs of
recognized  national and state  accounting
organizations and their chapters;

(b) Technical sessions at meetings of recognized
national and state accounting organizations and their
chapters;

(¢) Non-credit short courses at universities and
colleges;

(d) Formal, organized in-firm education programs;

(¢) Programs offered by other recognized
professional or industrial organizations.

C. University and college courses taken for academic credit
will qualify only if §A of this regulation is met. Credit
towards the continuing education requirement will be
calculated at 15 hours for each semester hour credit and 10
hours for each quarter hour credit.

D. Other Programs. A program other than a group program
will qualify only if:

(1) The program meets the requirements of §A of this
regulation;

(2) An outline is prepared in advance and preserved for
review by the Board, if required;

(3) The program is at least 1 hour in length (50-minute
period); and

(4) The program provides evidence of satisfactory
completion.

E. Peer Reviews.

(1) A peer review shall qualify if conducted in accordance
with Business Occupations and Professions Article, Title 2,
Subtitle 4A, Annotated Code of Maryland, and COMAR
09.24.06.
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(2) Calculation of Credit for Peer Reviews.

(a) Only an individual in a firm that receives an unmodified
peer review may receive credit.

(b) The peer reviewer shall allocate the credit hours among
the engagement personnel in attendance at the exit
conference for the peer review.

(c) The peer reviewer shall allocate a maximum of:

(i) 8 hours for a report review;
(i1) 12 hours for an engagement review; and

(iii) 16 hours for a system review.

(d) Peer review credit hours may not exceed 16 credit hours
per individual for any license period.

.04 Controls and Reporting.

A. Applicants for license renewal shall provide a
certification of compliance with renewal requirements, under
Business Occupations and Professions Article, §§2-311 and
2-312, Annotated Code of Maryland, under penalty of
perjury, in an appropriate form specified by the Board. The
following minimum documentation for qualification shall be
retained by the licensee for 4 years from the date of renewal:

(1) Sponsoring organization;

(2) Location of course;

(3) Title of program;

(4) Topical outline of the course;

(5) Description of content;

(6) Dates attended;

(7) Hours claimed; and

(8) Information which reflects the expertise of the
instructor in the subject matter.

B. The Board, at its discretion, may verify the information
and documentation supporting the certification of continuing
education credit reported under Regulation .02C of this
chapter or §A of this regulation. Upon request, the licensee
shall submit to the Board, or its designee, copies of the
original documentation supporting the certification provided
under §A of this regulation.
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C. A continuing education credit earned pursuant to
Regulation .02C of this chapter shall be reported on the
appropriate form at the time of application for the first
renewal of a license.

12. The Respondent shall not claim the continuing professional education credits
obtained to satisfy the requirements of this Consent Order in the Respondent’s next license
renewal application.

13. The Respondent agrees to submit documentation of the continuing professional
education hours claimed in the Respondent’s next license renewal application.

14. The Respondent agrees that in the event the Respondent fails to reactivate the
license after November 25, 2010, the Respondent shall document the continuing
professional education hours earned to satisfy the requirements of this Consent Order; and
the continuing professional education hours earned to meet the requirements to reinstate

the license.

15. The Respondent shall abide by the provisions of the Maryland Public
Accountancy Act, § 2-101 et. seq., Business Occupations and Professions Article,
Annotated Code of Maryland, and COMAR 09.24.01, et. seq.

16. The Respondent, by entering into this Consent Order, expressly waives the
right to have the pending allegations by the Board reduced to written charges, the right to
an administrative hearing on the charges and the making of Findings of Fact and
Conclusions of Law, and any and all further proceedings before the Board to which the
Respondent may be entitled to in this matter, and any rights to appeal from this Order.

17. The Respondent enters into this Consent Order freely, knowingly and
voluntarily.

5«;9\— , 2010, BY THE BOARD OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTACY:

ORDERED that the Respondent has violated Business Occupations and
Professions Article Regulation Article §§2-312(a) (2) and (3) Annotated Code of
Maryland; and Code of Maryland Regulations COMAR 09.24.02.02 (A) and (B); and it is
further

ORDERED that the Respondent is, hereby, reprimanded;

ORDERED that the Respondent be assessed a civil penalty of $1,040.00 for the
violation, which amount is payable to the Board in four installments, pursuant to the
following payment schedule:

) E\VS
BAEED ON THESE STIPULATIONS, IT IS, THIS \ L)\‘ DAY OF
\

a) $290, due on September 1, 2010;
b) $250, due on October 1, 2010;
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c¢) $250, due on November 1, 2010; and
d) $250, due on December 1, 2010.

ORDERED that in the event the Respondent fails to remit payment to the
Department the amount due on the first day of each month as agreed to in this Consent
Order, the Respondent’s license shall be suspended until full payment of the remaining
balance is received by the Department;

ORDERED that the Respondent’s complete the continuing professional education
credits as set forth in Stipulation #10 of this Order;

ORDERED that the Respondent’s license is converted to inactive status until such
time as the Respondent obtains the continuing professional education required under this
Order or fails to renew the license in inactive status by November 25, 2010;

ORDERED, that upon an application for license reactivation or license
reinstatement, the Respondent will provide to the Board documentation to verify the
continuing professional education credits claimed in the application;

ORDERED that the Respondent will provide documentation of the continuing
professional education credits claimed in the first subsequent renewal of the license
following the reactivation or reinstatement of the license after the date of the execution of

this Order; and it is further

ORDERED that the Board’s records and publications reflect the violations, the
reprimand and the civil penalty of $1,040.00 imposed on the Respondent.
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