
Employer Layoff Obligations
When a layoff occurs, the Maryland Division of Unemployment Insurance (Division) requests that 
employers provide relevant information and comply with other obligations.

Provide the Division with Requested Information

The Division will send a Request for Separation Information form to: notify an employer that a former 
employee filed a claim for unemployment insurance benefits; and request that the employer provide 
information about the employee’s separation from employment. 

⃞ All requested information must be entered on this form. The information provided will be used in 
determining eligibility for benefits and may impact whether an employer’s account is charged for 
benefits paid. 

⃞ Employers must submit the completed form by the due date or be assessed a $15 penalty.

⃞ Employers can respond to the Request for Separation Information either via: BEACON 
(employer.beacon.labor.md.gov/); State Information Data Exchange System (SIDES) 
(labor.maryland.gov/employment/uisides.shtml); or by mail (to the address appearing on the form).

⃞  After the form is submitted, the Division may contact an employer for additional information.

Mass Layoff

⃞ Employers are required to inform the Division at least 48 hours before a mass layoff (affecting 25 or 
more workers) that is permanent, indefinite, or lasting seven days or more. Mass layoffs may be 
reported in BEACON (employer.beacon.labor.md.gov/). 

⃞ If an employer does not have advance knowledge of the layoff, the employer is required to submit a 
list of affected workers (ordered alphabetically or by Social Security numbers) to the Division within 
48 hours of the commencement of the mass layoff. The list must include: 

● Employees’ names and Social Security numbers
● Each employee's last weekly or hourly pay/rate
● Any information about bonus pay, severance pay, and vacation/holiday pay, 
● Indicate every worker who receives pension or retirement pay, the amount received, and 

whether or not the worker contributed to it
● Expected date of recall, if known
● Last day of work

Employers covered by the WARN Act (dol.gov/general/topic/termination/plantclosings) must provide 60 
days’ advance notice of a mass layoff or plant closure. For more information, call Maryland Dislocation 
Services Unit at 410-767-2833 or visit labor.maryland.gov/employment/disworkerreport.shtml.    

To learn more, visit the Division website at mdunemployment.com or call 410-949-0033.    
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