Skip to Content Accessibility Information

Maryland Thoroughbred Racetrack Operating Authority - Maryland Racing Commission


August 3, 2023

Authority Members Present:

Greg Cross, Chairman
Alan Foreman
Chuck Tildon
Craig Thompson
Jeff Hargrave
Joe Franco
Lou Ulman
Mary Tydings
Tom Rooney
Tom Sadowski
George Mahoney (non-voting)
Nicole Earle (non-voting)
Gavin Stokes (non-voting)
Joe Franco (non-voting)

Staff Present Representing the Maryland Thoroughbred Operating Racing Authority:

Eric B. London
Assistant Attorney General

In accordance with §3-302, General Provisions Article, Annotated Code of Maryland, the Maryland Thoroughbred Operating Racing Authority (“Authority”) met by Google Meeting in open session at 9:00 a.m. on August 3, 2023. Chairman Greg Cross introduced himself as the Chairman of the Authority. Chairman Cross confirmed that all Authority members were present on the virtual platform.

Public Comment.

Chairman Cross asked for public comments and no public comments were made.

Retention of Project Consulting Team Led by Populous, Inc.

Chairman Cross advised the Authority members that Populous had twelve years of experience in the Racing industry and that the Authority was looking to engage the company to be the lead Project Consulting firm. Jeff Hargrave had questions regarding the specific language in the contract with Populous and whether some services were included in the contract proposal. Chairman Cross explained that the language in the contract was consistent with the scope of work contemplated and that the Authority was comfortable with the contract as presented. Nicole Earle had a follow-up inquiry about Populous’ contract that Chairman Cross answered. Hearing no further discussion, Chairman Cross requested a motion to approve the contract with Populous. Alan Foreman made the motion, it was seconded by Craig Thompson and hearing no objection, the Commission unanimously approved Populous to serve as the lead Project Consulting team.

Retention of Technical Writer David Nitkin

Chairman Cross advised the Authority members that it was planning to hire David Nitkin as a technical writer. Chairman Cross noted that Mr. Nitkin had policy experience, worked very quickly, and produced a quality work product at reasonable rates. Tom Sadowski and Lou Ulman both noted that Mr. Nitkin had previously performed outstanding work on similar past projects. Chairman Cross requested a motion to approve Mr. Nitkin as the technical writer for the Authority. Hearing no further discussion, Lou Ulman made a motion, which was seconded by Mary Tydings, and hearing no objection, the motion to have Mr. Nitkin serve as a technical writer passed unanimously.

Closed Session

Chairman Cross advised the public that the Authority was going into closed session to discuss a personnel matter, the hiring of an Executive Director for the Authority under Section 3 305(b)(1). In the closed session, the Authority unanimously agreed to have Marc Brody serve as the Executive Director of the Authority.


The open meeting adjourned at 9:13 a.m.

Next Commission Meeting.

August 23, 2023, 12:00 p.m. at the Maryland Stadium Authority.

/s/ Greg Cross
Date: August 23, 2023