Resources - Cosmetologists
Board inspectors conduct inspections throughout the State of Maryland on a daily basis. Upon the arrival of a board inspector at a beauty salon, the inspector is required to present his/her credentials (in the form of a State-issued identification card) prior to conducting the inspection. If a person comes to a salon to conduct an inspection and fails to present his /her proper credentials, you are not required to, and should not, allow that person to conduct an inspection. It is illegal for a board inspector to take any money from any person for any reason prior to, during, or after an inspection.
We now allow you to report your apprentice's training hours online!
Entering training hours is simple. Under the Features menu (on the lefthand side of the screen for desktop computers), select Education/Apprenticeship. Once you are there, scroll down to the link that says Sponsor Certification for Apprenticeship Training.
Log in and follow the instructions within to submit your apprentice's training hours. If you do not already have a password set up, you can create one with the "Create My Password" button. The hours will be logged immediately, and you will receive an immediate confirmation that they have gone through.
Maryland now offers a limited hairstylist license for those who are interested in only performing hair services. Hair services are defined as arranging, bleaching, cleansing, coloring, curling, cutting, dressing, singeing, permanent waving or waving the hair, as well as performing any other similar procedure intended to beautify, clean or embellish the hair.
To become a hairstylist, applicants must be at least 17 years of age and have completed 9th grade or a GED®. Applicants must submit proof of completion of 1200 hours of training in a cosmetology school or 15 months as an apprentice hairstylist in a licensed beauty salon, and qualify by an examination given by the Board.
HB 250 State Board of Barbers and State Board of Cosmetologists - Special Fund and Fees
Beginning July 1, 2018, the Boards of Barbers and Cosmetologists will convert from general funds to one special fund. This is an administrative change, and there is no action required on the part of licensees. No changes in fees are planned.
HB 1600 State Board of Cosmetologists - License Renewal - Continuing Education
This legislation establishes a requirement for licensees to complete six hours of continuing education during each two-year licensing term. The passage of the law took effect on October 1, 2018. However, The Board was given approval to implement the requirement in late 2021. As a result, new staff was hired to develop the Continuing Education Program. On May 1, 2023, the regulations for Continuing Education went into effect. The Board is now in the process of implementing this new Program, which will go into effect sometime during the 2024 calendar year. Additional information regarding compliance with the required continuing education hours will be forthcoming. You are encouraged to comply with the requirements of the law in the interest of the health and safety of Maryland citizens.
Under COMAR 09.22.02.03.F; Cosmetic tattooing is prohibited in any full service or limited practice salon or in regard to any salon-sponsored services. Tattoo means to prick, pierce, or otherwise enter the skin or mucous membrane of an individual for the purpose of inserting pigments or raising scars. Microblading and other forms of permanent, semi-permanent, or long-lasting make-up are all cosmetic tattooing.
COMAR 09.22.02.07 - Citations to Beauty Salons
Pedicures involving the use of fish (“Fish Pedicures”) have not been approved by the State Board of Cosmetologists primarily due to the foot bath or pedicure spa used for the “Fish Pedicure” not being properly disinfected after each client with an EPA-registered disinfectant COMAR 09.22.02.06(B)(1).